Skip to main content
Faculty/Staff Resources
What is Health and Human Development?

Diverse fields of study that share one
common goal: enriching the lives of others.

Search search
Mobile Search:

The “Got Grit” Award recognizes outstanding achievement by an undergraduate, of at least second year standing, who has demonstrated progressive and positive growth in their performance and who has exhibited perseverance and passion in pursuit of their education.

Submit a Nomination

Eligibility and Criteria

1. Must be of at least second year standing of nomination year; 

2. Anyone is welcome to submit a nomination.

3. Must demonstrate progressive and positive growth in their performance; 

4. Must exhibit perseverance and passion in pursuit of their education. 

Nominating Procedure

The Assistant Director of Alumni Relations will receive the nominations and forward them to the Awards Committee of the HHD Alumni Society Board.

The nomination shall consist of:

  1. Completed application form.
  2. The name and email address of one faculty or staff member who could serve as a reference to the selection committee is needed. This reference should be someone familiar with the challenges faced by the student who could attest to the student’s perseverance.

Selection Committee

The recipients of this award shall be selected by the Awards Committee of the College of Health and Human Development Alumni Society Board.

The Award

The recipients shall each receive a monetary award. The recipients will also receive a plaque, which will be presented during the Alumni Society Board's spring board meeting. 




Past Recipients icon-olus-circle
2023 Nick Dawkins,RPTM
2022 Darcy Bowman, NUTR
2021 Kiara Smith
2020 Jessica Hess